(713) 789 7977



You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

The Four C's - Diamond

The Four C's Diamond

The four factors that are used to determine the quality and value of a diamond are called The Four C's.

This include diamond cut, diamond color, diamond clarity and diamond carat weight. The system that is used to communicate the color and clarity grades by the majority of the diamond trade throughout the world is the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) Diamond Grading System.

This grading system was invented by Richard Litticoat, sometimes referred to as the Grandfather of Gemology, when he was the head of the GIA in 1941. He saw a need for a more exact system using universally accepted grades so that diamond dealers could communicate color and clarity in diamonds to each other.

In 1991 the GIA saw a need for a more universally accepted system for grading the cut and proportions of a diamond and they came up with the GIA Cut Grading System. The grading system is described below as well as other pertinent information about diamonds and their value.

For any inquiries, please call us at 713-789-7977 or contact us at hello@jewelrydepothouston.com. You can also chat online; a representative will usually respond immediately during showroom hours.